PCStitch Standard
 Understanding pattern size and print options
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

cabala

2 Posts

Posted - 10/12/2007 :  14:48:56  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm new to this program and relatively new to cross stitching. I learned how to a long long time ago but mainly using the kits. I have a little project in mind for my wife but am struggling having it come to fruition.

I wanted to stitch a poem I wrote with a nice border that can be framed and hung on her wall. Anyways I found this program because it lets me choose a border and then type in my poem and print the grid just like the kits i remember.

I wanted to do an 8.5 by 11 inch pattern with border and then poem in the middle. I have the border set and changed some of the colors and I had the poem title typed in. I went to print preview and it wants to print on 7 pages.

I'm not sure I understand the correlation to the pattern in the program to the printed layout. I chose 8.5" by 11" in new pattern options and a 16 type cloth. The lady in the store I am buying supplies from said it would be better for small words.

I saw an option to print the whole patter to one page but it makes everything super small. I really dont even understand what question I am trying to ask so please bare with me.

How come when I choose 8.5 by 11 but try to print to a 8.5 by 11 paper it wants to print on 7 pages. What am I failing to grasp here? I thought 16 type cloth meant that there was 16 stitches per inch.

Sorry for the extremely long post but I just want to try and make you understand my problem. If i can give any more info to let you help please dont hesitate to ask.

Dragonlair

USA
2851 Posts

Posted - 10/12/2007 :  15:25:20  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
There are several different definitions of "size" involved here.

First is the final project size - you state 8 1/2" X 11".
The second is the fabric size - you state 16 count